Indian things- Feminism 

Standard

Indian things.
 There are millions of living organisms in this world. The world was meant for each and every one of them. Though we have reached a state where humans are fighting endlessly among their own race for money and power, it is interesting to note how bad a race we are as a whole to fight for the land that belongs to a million other organisms. May be it’s the seventh sense that’s creating all the ruckus? May be life would have been so much better if we were like the animals that get to live wild and free. No visas, just fly to places you want to. Find food for every meal, be content with it rather than thinking about what to do next in life and caught in the vicious circle of running from one post to another. 
So then, that sums up on a superficial note on how humans are just a part of this world and not the world. Among humans, women are apparantly considered to be the less dominant race? I haven’t understood the logic behind this for what, a few years now. There have been certain things that make me wonder if we are going backward with evolution. 
A few days back, my mother was on the phone, when I was sitting in the same room engrossed with my instagram stories and the usual useless crap. I was eves dropping on her conversation (don’t usually listen to women gossip, but this seemed interesting). There was this topic that came up where she was discussing with my grand mother about giving away her wealth to her grandson’s and the required legalities to be done, as she was growing old. 
A number of things ran over my mind. First and foremost, I was wondering why would somebody think about death and who the wealth would go to after them? May be I’m not old enough to realise the importance, if any, or we are just that selfish generation who wouldn’t think much about our grandsons as much as our previous generations have been. Only time will tell. What came up next on my mind was, I was wondering why my mother was talking about only grandsons and not taking into account the granddaughters. My mother hung up, and I decided to ask her right away, not even thinking for a second if she’ll give me that ‘So you were listening to everything?’ look. 

My mom explained to me how, in India, it’s a patriarchal society and the sons are the ones who inherit all the wealth. I was shocked. I couldn’t believe this was happening in my family too. I thought we were moving in the forward direction only to realise, we are no way even looking forward, forget moving forward. My mom, being as broad minded as she’s always been, told me how you can’t change a few things in the country. Immediately, like always, a million vague questions came up in my mind ‘What if someone had 2 daughters? What if someone had 4 daughters and one son?’ How unfair is it? Why would somebody do that? 

 If you’re wondering if it’s the usual feminist crib by a homo sapien with XY chromosomes, ‘No’. I’m a XX chromosome, but the difference being, I was raised by a very fine and powerful XY chromosome. My one and only, the finest woman I’ve ever met and I will ever do, ‘Amma’. 

Leave a comment